International Board of Visitors

The MICDS International Board of Visitors was founded in 1998 with Senator Jack Danforth ’54 serving as inaugural Chair. The Board's goal is to educate its members about the strengths, advantages and values of the Mission, programs and future plans of MICDS so that the Visitors may offer counsel to the Head of School and support the work of MICDS. The Board is composed of 35 – 45 prominent alumni who live outside the St. Louis region and is currently chaired by Jesse Appleton '97.
On October 19 - 20, 2017 the Board of Visitors met at MICDS to discuss the topic: "To be Human: Balancing the Humanities and STEM for Lives of Purpose." The Visitors had large and small group discussions, toured humanities classrooms, and met with administrators, faculty, and current students.
Other topics that have been studied by the Board of Visitors include:
  • Preparing Students for College and for Life
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Core Competencies of an MICDS Student
  • Formulating the Next Strategic Plan
  • Non-Cognitive Skills: Emotional and Social Development
  • 21st Century Science and Math
  • Positioning MICDS as a Leader in a Competitive Marketplace
  • The MICDS 2009 -2014 Strategic Plan
  • Preparing MICDS students to be compassionate global citizens
  • A comprehensive Library/Learning Center to enhance JK-12ness
  • Diversity
  • Parent Partnerships
  • The Impact of Culture on Teaching and Learning
  • Learning about the Upper School
  • The Arts
  • Athletics
  • The MICDS 2000 – 2005 Strategic Plan
  • Finding a balance with new school/old schools, excellence/community, governance/management
  • Connecting the ethical and the intellectual in the School’s Mission
If you would like additional information on the MICDS International Board of Visitors, or if you have questions, please contact Stephanie Cusworth McNally '00 at

Board Members

Abed Ali '94 Amanda Kahn '00
Melissa Lane Anton '92 Ed Keller '79
Jesse Appleton '97 - Chair Moyenda Mutharika Knapp '87
Justin Aylward '98 Praveen Kosuri '87
Lindsay Carlson Backscheider '00 Matt Krieg '03
Kristin Bresnahan '03 Margot Langsdorf '01
Georgia Cady '76 Dana McBride '71
Becky Cannon Carey '74 Alex McMullin '04
Anthony Chivetta '08 Mark Paskar '92
Victor Cousins '95 Kristin Pate '01
Nancy Curby '84 Max Planck '00
Charlie Dill '82 Curtiss Reed '72
Sheridan Richardson Doherty '90 Andrew Ribaudo '94
Betsy Sims Duff '78 Burton Roberts '90
David Elliott '63 Chris Sagovac '80
Ted Gamble '71 Maggie Littlefield Sahlman '01
John Goltermann '90 Sarah Schoedinger '88
Kina Guyton '91 Tom Singer '60
Ashley McMullin Hanser '92 Tim Smith '65
Alison Hillhouse '95 Willis Wang '83
Ellen Day Hoff '64 Robin Perez Wells '92
Marc Holtz '74 Dana Weston '00
Lanny Jones '62