Thirty-two Seniors Inducted into Cum Laude Society

Thirty-two seniors were inducted into the MICDS Chapter of the Cum Laude Society during a virtual ceremony on Thursday, April 22, 2021.

Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools. The founders of the society modeled Cum Laude after Phi Beta Kappa, and in the years since its founding, Cum Laude has grown to 382 chapters.

The motto of the Society is Areté, Diké, Timé – Excellence, Justice, Honor. Areté includes the concept of excellence in the moral sense and is not limited to the ideal of superiority and scholarship, nor does it involve the endeavor of competing primarily for academic goals. Diké includes the concept of what is suitable and appropriate, as well as just. Timé includes the concept of dignity and truth, as well as honor.

The MICDS Chapter of the Cum Laude Society is comprised of the top 20% of the senior class. Each inductee must demonstrate that they have pursued academic rigor by completing three or more Advanced Placement® courses, have no grade lower than a C, and be free of disciplinary and honor infractions. As part of the induction process, each candidate shared one of their Common App essays for review by the Cum Laude faculty members. Annalisa Goot ’21, Ava Mandoli ’21, Jack Morris ’21, and Fiona Richards ’21 were selected by the faculty to share their essays during the virtual ceremony.

The following members from the Class of 2021 were selected for membership into the MICDS Chapter of the Cum Laude Society:

Raneem Alzahabi ’21

Imaan Amin ’21

Cal Barton ’21

Prithvi Dhanabal ’21

Estephanie Estrada ’21

William Giles ’21

Annalisa Goot ’21

Janie Guirl ’21

Ryan Jasper ’21

Eric Ji ’21

Ally Kalishman ’21

Andrew Lindsey ’21

Sam Liu ’21

Ava Mandoli ’21

Lucas McCarty ’21

Henry Mikula ’21

Jack Morris ’21

Sebastian Neumann ’21

CeCe Nourie ’21

Grant Purdy ’21

Rich Qian ’21

Walter Ralph ’21

Fiona Richards ’21

Luke Rickers ’21

Dillan Sant ’21

Nicholas Scheele ’21

Bonnie Sneider ’21

Hasani Spann ’21

Olivia Warren ’21

Sophia Weber ’21

Hanna Wurdack ’21

Sarah Zar ’21

Congratulations to our newest Cum Laude Society members!