National Merit Semifinalists 2019

17 MICDS Seniors Announced as National Merit Semifinalists

We’re proud to announce that 17 MICDS seniors have been announced as National Merit Semifinalists. Approximately 16,000 Semifinalists were recognized from among over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools who took the PSAT in October of 2018. National Merit Semifinalists represent less than one percent of all high school seniors, and the group includes students with the highest scores from each state.

Congratulations to the following students:

  • James Bilderback*
  • Tanay Chandak
  • Jialin Chen
  • Nick Clifford
  • Ceci Cohen
  • Stanley Ding
  • Kyle Fehr
  • Lauren Goldberg
  • Benjamin Hollander-Bodie
  • Tista Mandal
  • Henry Posega Rappleye
  • Jude Sorkin
  • Lisa Speegle
  • Renee Stanec
  • Aanjaneyaa Venkataraman
  • Jon Zhang
  • Jenna Zhao

Matt Essman, Director of College Counseling, shares, “We are delighted that 17 MICDS students have been recognized among other top students from around the country with this distinction.  Their accomplishment is a testament to the rigorous education offered at MICDS, and we are excited to see what lies ahead for these young scholars.”

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), established in 1955, is an independent, not-for-profit organization. NMSC conducts the National Merit® Scholarship Program, an annual academic competition for recognition and college undergraduate scholarships. This year marks the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The program “honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies.”

This honor is an outstanding marker of excellence. Congratulations to our 17 National Merit Semifinalists!

*Not pictured in group photo.