Team A

22 Students “Team” Up for State TEAMS Competition

Last Friday, 22 students on three MICDS teams competed at the 2019 TEAMS State Competition at St. Louis Community College. The TEAMS (Test of Engineering Aptitude, Mathematics and Science) competition is a three-pronged challenge:

  1. Design/Build – Using designated materials, teams complete a hands-on design challenge related to the annual competition theme.
  2. Multiple Choice – High school teams have 90 minutes to solve 80 multiple choice questions focused on eight engineering scenarios related to the annual competition theme.
  3. Essay – Each team researches and writes an in-depth essay which is submitted electronically prior to their competition date.

At State, Team B and Team C won 1st place in their respective divisions and Team A earned 3rd place in their division. Team C also took 3rd place in the multiple choice test. Further results will be received in the next two month.

Upon participating in TEAMS for the first time, Team B’s Captain Nigina Aripova ’22 shared, “We were able to find ways in which everyone was able to participate and contribute in our own unique ways. I couldn’t have asked for a better team of classmates that were so kind, caring, encouraging, understanding and hardworking.” When asked about her favorite part of the experience, Aripova said, “The best part of the competition was probably the engineering challenge, where we built a machine that had to pick up a bear from a bucket, carry it over the table, flip it around and place it in a designated spot on the table.” For Nigina, TEAMS was one of the best activities that she has participated in this year. “We all hope to participate in the competition all four years, and improve as time goes on.”

Below are our three groups of participants.

Team A:

  • Ceci Cohen ’20 – Captain
  • Ryan Ahn ’20
  • John Curylo ’20
  • Stanley Ding ’20
  • Chase Nwamu ’20
  • Jude Sorkin ’20
  • Jon Zhang ’20
  • Lucy Zhao ’20

Team B:

  • Nigina Aripova ’22 – Captain
  • Ellie Gira ’22
  • Emma Scally ’22
  • Tommy Hall ’22
  • Sam Baumohl ’22
  • Sonia Bhayani ’22
  • Aishani Chakraborty ’22

Team C:

  • Benjamin Hollander-Bodie ’20 – Captain
  • Jialin Chen ’20
  • Nicholas Clifford ’20
  • Tista Mandal ’20
  • Jenna Zhao ’20
  • Jack Cai ’19
  • Andrew Zhao ’19

Congratulations to all of our TEAMS competitors!