Upper School Choir Members Presented With Awards

The National School Choral Award (NSCA) was presented at the end of the Spring Pops Concert on Friday, April 28, 2017.

The NSCA is the highest award that a senior student in the vocal music program can receive. This award is presented annually to a senior or seniors who have given four years of exemplary service to the MICDS choral program. The certificate reads “In recognition of superior merit, ability, and achievement of outstanding contributions to the success of the school choral program, and of an unusual degree of loyalty, cooperation, and high quality of conduct by the general consent of the music faculty, school officials, and others.”

Senior Lily Hofer ’17 is the 2017 recipient of The National School Choral Award. Lily has performed with the St. Louis Metro District Choir all four years of her high school career. She has earned “exemplary” ratings at both the MSHSAA District and State music festivals, has completed the challenging AP Music Theory course with great success, held roles in the MICDS musical productions of Legally Blond and The Sound of Music, and was selected to the 2017 Missouri All-State Choir as an alto alternate. In addition to receiving the NSCA, Lily was also presented with a plaque for her selection to the Missouri All-State Choir.

Congratulations, Lily!

In addition to the NSCA, seven MICDS Upper School Choir members were presented awards at the conclusion of the Spring Pops Concert on Thursday, April 27, 2017. Each award is listed below.

Vocal Music Achievement Award:
Nikki Niermann ’20 and Akshay Patwardhan ’20

The Fred Waring Director’s Award for Chorus:
McKay Marshall ’19 and Charlie B. Southern ’19

The Quincy Jones Musicianship Award:
Izzy Essman ’18 and Dillon Scott ’18

National ACDA Honor Choir Plaque:
Arjun Ramakrishnan ’20

2017 Missouri All-State Choir Plaque:
Izzy Essman ’18

Congratulations student choir members!