32 Seniors Inducted into Cum Laude Society

Thirty-two members of the Class of 2017 were inducted into the MICDS Chapter of the Cum Laude Society on April 14. In opening remarks, Head of Upper School Scott Small shared, “We are here to celebrate remarkable academic achievement – both inspiring and compelling for the commitment to excellence that it represents as well as for the inherent attributes of human hopes, ambitions, and advancement it epitomizes.” The St. Louis Country Day School chapter of the Cum Laude Society was formed in 1926, and the Mary Institute chapter originated in 1941. The mission of the Cum Laude Society is to “recognize academic achievement in secondary schools for the purpose of promoting excellence (Areté), justice (Diké) and honor (Timé).”

This year’s student speakers, Jacob Flom and Hope Keeley, were selected by vote of their peers. As part of the induction process, all of the candidates are asked to write an essay, choosing from three topics. Jacob and Hope both wrote about an experience that made them excited about learning.

2017 Cum Laude Society Inductees
Peyton Baur
Nidhi Bhaskar
Carolyn Botz
Rohit Chouhan
Ruth Coolidge
Alexander Curylo
Jacob Flom
Isabella Fox
Michel Ge
Caitlin Halligan
Harry Hegeman
Rebecca Helfant
Shane Isaak
Yoana Ivanova
Nicole Kasal
Hope Keeley
Emma Klahr
Andrew Krause
Abinaya Lakshmanan
Alexis MacAskill
Eve Mauze
Matthew May
Sidd Mehta
Kumu Myla
Sarah Olsen
Leila Payer
Jacob Platin
Peggy Rianhard
Samantha Sansone
Philip Speegle
Allison Stanec
Annabel Warren