Merit Awards recipients

Faculty Awards Honor Excellence in Teaching

The annual Faculty Awards Ceremony honors, promotes and celebrates great teaching, and recognizes the outstanding work and tireless dedication of our MICDS faculty. “As educators, we are blessed to spend our days in the laboratory of potential and possibility,” said Lisa Lyle, Head of School. “We enter into these teaching spaces with a firm belief in the transformative capacity of education . . . each and every day you help children become their best selves.”

Chairs of Distinguished Teaching

The School is able to present summer sabbaticals, fellowships, merit awards and Chairs of Distinguished Teaching because of the generosity of alumni and friends who value their experiences at Mary Institute, St. Louis Country Day School and MICDS. Congratulations to the 2017 honorees!

Summer Sabbaticals and Fellowships

Wilma and Roswell Messing, Jr. ’34 Summer Sabbatical
Grace Barlow (MS History)

Edward M. Rivinus Summer Sabbatical
and The Mary Institute Class of 1957 Faculty Development Fund
Robin Campbell (2nd Grade Homeroom Teacher)
Veronica Wachter (1st Grade Homeroom Teacher)

Thomas Family Fellowship
Rene Ashman (US World Languages)

Polk Family Summer Sabbatical Fellowship for the Teaching of English
Meghan Clark (MS English)

Carol B. & Jerome T. Loeb Fund for Excellence in Teaching of Mathematics
Aubrey Schmoll (1st Grade Homeroom Teacher)
Sara Levine (3rd Grade Homeroom Teacher) and the JK-12 Math Department

Merit Awards

Country Day School Class of 1958 “Extra Effort” Award
Nolan Clarke (MS Science)
Andy Cox (US History)
Sarah Garner (LS Art)
Brad Schaefer (MS P.E.)

Mary Institute Class of 1940 Annual Faculty Award
Christopher Barker (US World Languages)

Dorothy Wray Roberts ’17 Faculty Merit Award
Chris Brennan (4th Grade Homeroom Teacher)

Sears Foundation Faculty Merit Award
Kara Friedman (MS Counselor)
David Sanders (US World Languages)

The Michael S. Gerrard Award
Dana Self (US Vocal Music)

Chairs of Distinguished Teaching

Ronald S. Beasley Chair of Distinguished Teaching and Learning
Rachael Maurer (MS P.E.)

Sander H. Coovert Chair of Distinguished Teaching
Jim Lohr (LS P.E.)

Eleanor Church Johnson ’27 Chair of Distinguished Teaching in English
Aubrey Schmoll (1st Grade Homeroom Teacher)

Gilbert-Werremeyer Chair of Distinguished Teaching
Brian Coco (US Science)

John R. Johnson Parents Association Junior Chair of Distinguished Teaching
Marshall McCurties (US History)

John Allan Love Chair of Distinguished Teaching in History
Cathy Leitch (US History)

CDS Class of 1959 Walter J. McCreery Chair of Distinguished Teaching in Memory of George Braun ’59
Callie Bambenek (MS Science)
Robyn Williams (MS History)

J. Evan Philips Chair of Distinguished Teaching in History
Tanya Roth (US History)

Donald H. Webb Chair of Distinguished Teaching
Jody Marberry (MS Math)