Parents Association Slate of Executive Board Candidates for 2016-2017

Dear MICDS Parents,

Thank you to everyone who participated in the Parents Association (PA) nominating process by submitting suggestions for both Executive Board and Class Chair nominations.

As required by our bylaws, the PA Executive Board and Class Chair Nominating Committees met in January to prepare recommended slates of nominees for the 2016-17 school year. Thank you to the following parents who served on these committees:

Executive Board Nominating Committee: Michelle Cohen (chair), Angela Martin, Jill Hunt, Rosalynn LeNoir, Asha Zimmerman, Peggy Krainik, Magda Curylo, Tracy Jasper and Elaine Goldman.

Class Chair Nominating Committee: Michelle Cohen (chair), Angela Martin, Jill Hunt, Traci Short, Eddy Sutton, Joanna Tschudy and Jobie Summers.

Each Nominating Committee went through a thorough and conscientious process to identify proven leaders within MICDS and the larger St. Louis community. The parents they chose to represent our School have demonstrated leadership, enthusiasm and commitment to MICDS. These parent leaders will set the tone for the Parents Association and will be ambassadors for and partners with our School. Each nominee exhibits the following qualities and attributes:

  1. Is positive and solution-driven.
  2. Is generally supportive of MICDS and its policies.
  3. Interacts well with a wide, diverse range of parents in the School.
  4. Interacts and works well with Division Heads, Deans, faculty and staff.
  5. Demonstrates good judgment and strong people skills.
  6. Can show discretion and keep information confidential.
  7. Demonstrates a sense of commitment to and interest in MICDS and will serve as an ambassador for the School.

The parent leaders listed below have agreed to serve and will be voted on for approval at the Winter Parents Association Meeting on Friday, February 26 at 8:00 a.m. in the Olson Hall Presentation Room. All parents are invited and encouraged to attend.

On behalf of the Executive Board Nominating Committee, I submit the following slate for the 2016-17 Parents Association Executive Board:

President* – Jill Hunt
President Elect – Traci Short
Past President* – Angela Martin
Secretary – Joanna Tschudy
Treasurer* – Tami Nuzum
Assistant Treasurer – Karen Smoller
VP Class Activities – Jill Gould
VP Communications – Cindy Haines
VP Parent Activities – Eddy Sutton
VP Parent Education – Liz Baisch
VP School Community Relations – Rosalynn LeNoir
VP School Services – Alberto Gallardo

  • Denotes position filled in accordance with the bylaws.

On behalf of the Parents Association Class Chair Nominating Committee, I submit the following 2016-17 Class Parent Chair and Vice Chair slate:

12th Grade Chair – Karen Krause
12th Grade Co-Chair – Amy Dove
11th Grade Chair – Jan Brooks
11th Grade Vice Chair – Jamey Maune
10th Grade Chair – Jen Amato
10th Grade Vice Chair – Stacey Wehrle
9th Grade Chair – Melynda Brackney
9th Grade Vice Chair – Laurie Gatch
8th Grade Chair – Lisa Weiss
8th Grade Vice Chair – Kathy Birchfield
7th Grade Chair – Elizabeth Southern
7th Grade Vice Chair – Tracy Keener
6th Grade Chair – Maria Ray
6th Grade Vice Chair – Mary Chou
5th Grade Chair – Nela Navarrine
5th Grade Vice Chair – Julia Macias Garcia
4th Grade Chair – Amy Small
4th Grade Vice Chair – Julie Ponciroli
3rd Grade Chair – Brandy Lippert
3rd Grade Vice Chair – Maureen Sheehan
2nd Grade Chair – Kanika Pandey
2nd Grade Vice Chair – Tiffany Ray
1st Grade Chair – Shelly Reynolds
1st Grade Vice Chair – Ashley Polce
SK Chair – Melissa Swank
SK Vice Chair – Brittany Ciaramita
JK Chair – TBD
JK Vice Chair – TBD

Respectfully submitted,
Michelle Cohen
Parents Association Past President and Nominating Chair