Scholar Bowl Team Concludes Stellar Season with Bids to National Tournaments

After preparation and training in the fall, The MICDS Scholar Bowl Team enjoyed a successful season of competition in the West County division of the Private School League. They took an impressive 11-1 record and #1 seed into the Private School League Championship Tournament.

The Rams finished in second place out of 18 schools as they lost to Lutheran High School South. MICDS also made the finals of the De Smet Tournament out of a field of 28 teams. Both of these performances at highly competitive tournaments earned the Rams an invitation to the NAQT National Tournament which bills itself as the premier tournament in the country.

In February, MICDS competed in the Washington University High School Academic Competition. This tournament draws a competitive, 36-team field from the Midwest region. MICDS made the finals of this tournament and qualified for the PACE National Scholastics Championship, known as one of the most competitive events in the country.

The Scholar Bowl team concluded the season at the districts level of the state championship qualifying process. They lost to CBC, the eventual winner of the district.

Scholar Bowl is a competition in which teams compete head-to-head to answer questions from all areas of knowledge including history, literature, science, fine arts, current events, sports, and popular culture. This is the second year MICDS has fielded a team.

The 2014-2015 co-heads of Scholar Bowl were Allison Tielking ’16, Molly Pfefferkorn ’16, and Omar Jawaid ’16. They were joined throughout the season by Foster Thompson ’15, Alex Donovan ’18, Michel Ge ’17, Abinaya Lakshmanan ’17, Nick Jones ’18, Alex Curylo ’17, Katie Donovan ’18, Dez Reed ’16, Emma Klahr ’17 and Tommy Larsen ’18. Upper School Math Teacher Paul Reinke is the team’s faculty sponsor.