Student Standouts for October 25

Student Standouts: Perry ’20, Goltermann ’20, Mikulec ’22, Liu ’21, Mandoli ’21, Qian ’21, Field Hockey in the News

Congratulations to this week’s standouts below. Way to go #RamNation! And as always, if you have a story to share, please email weeklynews@micds.org.

Three Girls Golf Athletes Take Game to State

Parker Perry ’20, Garrett Goltermann ’20 and Katharine Mikulec ’22 all earned a spot at the Class 1 Girls Golf State Championship this year. Prior to State, West Newsmagazine interviewed our three qualifiers and Head Coach Steve Johnson.

Perry was also in the spotlight in an STL Today article that focused on her mastery of the mental aspect of golf. With that and a positive attitude, Perry shared her thoughts as she headed into State.

At the Class 1 Girls Golf State Championships, Goltermann finished her high school golf career in style. After bouncing back from a tough first day, she earned one position away from claiming a medal. Fellow senior Perry earned 5th in individual standings at the Class 1 state championships. Both student-athletes are highlighted in this STL Today article. Way to go, Rams!

3 Rams Recognized for Photojournalism

This fall, St. Louis Public Radio launched its inaugural St. Louis Public Radio Photojournalism Prize, a competition for St. Louis-area high school students to gain professional training, resources and recognition in the field of photojournalism. Congratulations to the following awardees:

  •  Sam Liu ’21 – Best Landscape
  • Ava Mandoli ’21 – Best Still Life
  • Rich Qian ’21 – Honorable Mention

From November 11 through December 31, the photos will be displayed at St. Louis Public Radio, UMSL at Grand Center, 3651 Olive Street, during normal business hours. Winners also receive a masterclass with station photojournalists and publication on the news site stlpublicradio.org.

Victory for Field Hockey

The Girls Field Hockey team beat Whitfield on Friday with highlights on STLToday.com from Kate Oliver ’22, Mia Duchars ’20, Anna Lochhead ’22, Jenna Bernstein ’21, Greta Wolfsberger ’22, Skyler Lesslie ’20 and Barbara Ribeiro ’20.