Student Musicians Shine at the MSHSAA District Solo/Ensemble Festival

Congratulations to the 30 MICDS vocal and instrumental students who participated in the MSHSAA District Solo/Ensemble Festival held on Friday, March 8, 2019 at Parkway Central High School. Students performed one or two pieces before an adjudicator who provided written comments and critique on areas such as intonation, tone quality, breathing, articulation/diction, dynamics, stage presence and interpretation/style.

Each performer was assigned an overall rating of: 1-Exemplary, 2-Outstanding, 3-Satisfactory, 4-Developing or 5-Ineffective. Students earning a 1-Exemplary rating are eligible to perform at the MSHSAA State Music Festival on Saturday, April 27, 2019 at the University of Missouri-Columbia.

1-Exemplary Ratings:

Kelci Creath ’19, Flute Solo

Katie Flemming ’19, Vocal Solo

Tommaso Maiocco ’19, Tuba Solo

Alex Migala ’20, Trumpet Solo

Emma Nohara-LeClair ’19, Vocal Solo

Akshay Patwardhan ’20, Vocal Solo

Arjun Ramakrishnan ’20, Vocal Solo

Liam Weber ’21, Vocal Solo

Lucy Zhao ’20, Flute Solo

Kyle Fehr ’20, Shibashis Mandal ’20, Christopher Shannon ’19, Saxophone Trio

2-Outstanding Ratings:

Sebastian Ashman ’22, Vocal Solo

Claudia Cheng ’20, Piano Solo

Cecilia Cohen ’20, Oboe Solo

Lauren Douglas ’22, Vocal Solo

Rafi Gil-Diaz ’19, Clarinet Solo

Layth Hamed ’19, Vocal Solo

Amy Li ’21, Saxophone Solo

Shibashis Mandal ’20, Piano Solo

Morgan Weber ’21, Vocal Solo

Ittmum Zahir ’22, Vocal Solo

Jerry Zhang ’21, Piano Solo

Lucy Zhao ’20, Violin Solo

Lauren Ferguson ’20, Alysha Ford ’20, Tista Mandal ’20, Sophia Taylor ’20, Girls Quartet

Kelci Creath ’19, Renee Stanec ’20, Lucy Zhao ’20, Flute Trio

3-Satisfactory Ratings

James Bilderback ’20, Trumpet Solo

Nina Hamilton ’22, Piano Solo

The MICDS instrumental music students are under the direction of Becky Long and Joshua Baumgartner. String students are under the direction of David Doherty and Erin Hamill. Vocal music students are under the direction of Dana Self. Accompanist for the festival was Nicholas Bideler.